Clubs

Most areas of Australia have a local flying club. Apart from being the most direct and useful way to access the HGFA, clubs also offer a much more local slant on the flying scene than the national body. Most run both flying and social events on a regular basis, and also make sure local takeoff and landing sites are kept safe and usable and accessible for pilots. Clubs also appoint local Safety Officers who know and understand local sites and conditions, and can also offer expert advice for beginners and visitors to the locality. Many clubs also run local skill improvement days, as well as entry level competitions, and in some cases subsidise equipment sales for such things as first aid kits, tow equipment and more. And of course the local club is the very best source there is of good second hand equipment ...

All clubs are run by a committee elected from the members, by the members, so they are always very much tuned into local requirements. They also have plenty of experienced members who are only too happy to help out newer members with site information, local transport and flying tips in most cases.

Click on the map or on the state name for a list of state associations and clubs in the state / territory.


Queensland
Northern Territory


South Australia Victoria
Tasmania
CLUB NAME CONTACT NAME ADDRESS Email / Phone
ACT HG and PG Association Terri Jewell 9 Naden Place, Ngunnawal ACT 2913 tjewell69@gmail.com
0411 236 715
NSW Hang Gliding and Paragliding Association Nir Eshed P.O.Box 1238, Baulkham Hills, NSW 1755 executive@nswhpa.org
0423 422 494
Blue Mountains Hang Gliding Club Alex Drew BMHGC Executive, 24 Quarry Road, Ryde NSW 2112 revant01@yahoo.com.au
0423 696 677
Central Coast Sky Surfers Rod Burke P.O. Box 3106, Bateau Bay, NSW 2261 president@centralcoastskysurfers.com
0401 923 923
Dusty Demons Hang Gliding Club Trent Brown 6 Miago Court, Ngunnawal ACT 2913 Trent.Brown@anu.edu.au
0427 557 486
Newcastle Paragliding Club Bob Lane PO Box 3033, Valentine NSW 2280 bob.lane55@hotmail.com
0490 349 441
Illawarra Hang Gliding Club Frank Chetcuti 27 A Paterson Rd, Coalcliff, NSW 2508 timcau@ozemail.com.au
0418 252 221
Kosciusko Alpine Paragliding Club Michael Porter porter.michael60@gmail.com
0415 920 444
Manilla Sky Sailors Inc. Godfrey Wenness PO Box 1, Manilla NSW 2346 skygodfrey@aol.com
02 6785 6545
Mid North Coast Flyers Club Inc Dan Rose 470 Ocean Dr. Laurieton NSW 2443 mncflyers@hotmail.com
0411 897 255
Newcastle Hang Gliding Club Peter Swift PO box 991, Newcastle NSW 2300 president@nhgc.asn.au
0412 879 960
Sydney Paragliding and Hang Gliding Club Kirsten Seeto P.O.Box 840, Mona Vale, NSW, 2103 kirsten.flys@gmail.com
0450 887 857
Northern Rivers HG and PG Club Jan De Vos PO Box 126, Byron Bay NSW 2481 janpauldevos@googlemail.com
0438 645 135
Stanwell Park Hang/Para Gliding Club Yianie Tiliacos PO Box 258, Helensburgh, NSW, 2508 yts@exemail.com.au
0422 776 060
Sydney Hang Gliding Club Ken Stothard 9 Cox Ave, Bondi, NSW 2026 kstothar@optusnet.com.au
0417 467 695
Sky Hawks (NSW) Brett Coupland Sydney brett@ppgaustralia.com
0409 162 616
East Oz Microlight Club Ray Sparkes PO Box 27, Mordeth, NSW 2321 absolutelyturf@gmail.com
02 4930 1001
Northern Beaches Hang Gliding Club Ray Firth Unit 8, 8 Parriwi Road, Mosman NSW 2088 rayfirth@gmail.com
0425 314 735
The Pico Club Inc Jos Weemaes 3 Balmoral Drive Wodonga 3690 jweemaes@yahoo.com
0488 693 788
CLUB NAME CONTACT NAME ADDRESS Email / Phone
North Qld Hang Gliding Association Daniel Keech PO Box 6468 Cairns, QLD 4870 flying@cairnshangglidingclub.org
0427 888 893
Qld Hang Gliding Association Greg Hollands PO Box 13, Canungra QLD 4275 greg.s.hollands@transport.qld.gov.au
07 3306 7376 (w) 07 3844 8566 (h)
Cairns Hang Gliding Club Inc. Tracey Hayes PO Box 661 Smithfield QLD 4878 flying@cairnshangglidingclub.org
0418 963 796
Canungra Hang Gliding Club Sim Bailey PO Box 84, Canungra, QLD 4275 president@chgc.asn.au
0418 440 117
Central Queensland Skyriders Inc. Alister Dixon Lagoons' Comet River Rd, Comet Qld 4702 apdixon@bigpond.com or j.lowe@cqu.edu.au
Capricornia Paraflyers Inc Shayne Towers-Hammond 92 Stanley St, Rockhampton Qld shayne.16@hotmail.com
0434 544 148
Dalby Hang Gliding Club Jason Ried PO Box 258, LOWOOD QLD, 4311 jasonr@gleda.com.au
0424 293 922
Fly Killarney Inc Lindsay Wootten (Secretary) PO Box 857 Spring Hill QLD 4004 wootten.lindsay@gmail.com
0427 807 516
Sunshine Coast Sports Aviators Inc. John Vasta PO Box 661, Noosa Heads, QLD 4567 president@sunshinecoastsportsaviators.com.au
0416 283 883
Wicked Wings Toowoomba HG and PG club Peter Schwenderling 10 Sassafras Crt., Plainland QLD 4341 swendo1@bigpond.net.au
0427 461 347
Whitsunday Hang Gliding Club Inc. Graham Lee 12 Van Eldik Ave, Andergrove QLD 4740 gdsrlee@hotmail.com
07 4954 6726 (h)
Paradise Flyers Ben Darke Gold Coast ben@waterbed.com.au
0418 753 220
CLUB NAME CONTACT NAME ADDRESS Email / Phone
South Australian HG PG ML PL Association Stuart McClure c/o PO Box 6260, Hallifax St, Adelaide, SA, 5000 sahga.exec@gmail.com
0428 100 796
Alice Springs HG and PG Club Richard Binstead Alice Springs NT 0870 rbinstead@gmail.com
0422 956 967
CLUB NAME CONTACT NAME ADDRESS Email / Phone
Tasmanian Hang Gliding and Paragliding Association Rob Steane Hobart robsteane@netspace.net.au
0418 146 137
CLUB NAME CONTACT NAME ADDRESS Email / Phone
Victorian HG and PG Association Rob van der Klooster PO Box 157, Northcote VIC 3070 President@VHPA.org.au
0438 428 569
Dynasoarers Rob van der Klooster 44 Tanner St, Breakwater, Vic 3219 dynasoarers@gmail.com
0408 335559
Melbourne Hang Gliding Club Peter Cass P.O. Box 5278, South Melbourne, 3205 P_J_Cass@yahoo.com.au
0422 246 326
North East Victorian Hang Gliding Club PO Box 317, Bright VIC 3741
Skyhigh Paragliding Inc. Peter Sapiej PO Box 441, Kew, VIC 3101 pres@skyhighparagliding.org.au
0409 226 422
Southern Microlight Club Chris Bullen Melbourne president@southernmicrolightclub.com.au
0438 230 199
Western Victorian Hang Gliding Club Phillip Campbell PO Box 92, Beaufort VIC 3373 campbell.p@giant.net.au
0419 302 850
Victorian Air Hogs Bohdan Philippa PO Box 392, Aireys Inlet, VIC 3231 bohdan392 [at] gmail.com
0417 341 367
CLUB NAME CONTACT NAME ADDRESS Email / Phone
Hang Gliding Association of WA Peter South HGAWA, PO Box 146, Midland WA 6936 ronwaysouth@yahoo.com.au
0417 930 142
Albany Hang Gliding Club Simon Shuttleworth PO Box 5036, Albany, WA 6332 simon@holidayalbany.com.au
0427 950 556
Cloudbase Paragliding Club Colin Brown c/- 12 Hillside Crescent, Maylands, WA, 6051 cobrown@bigpond.com
0407 700 378
Goldfields Dust Devils Murray Wood (President, SSO Kalgoorlie) 6 Carrington St, Kalgoorlie, WA 6430 muzel71@bigpond.net.au
0427 328 638
Hill Flyers Club WA Rick Williams 160 Blackadder Rd, Swanview, 6056 hillflyersclub@gmail.comu
0427 057 961
Western Soarers Michael Duffy PO Box 483, Mount Hawthorn WA 6915 wshgc@hgfa.asn.au
04 0202 0098

< Back to Home
Copyright ©Hang Gliding Federation of Australia (HGFA) All Rights Reserved. Terms and Conditions.